A Cherished Honor

Archie Meets Nero Wolfe by Robert Goldsborough

Click Cover to Buy Now!

I was delighted to learn in February that “Archie Meets Nero Wolfe” had been named “Best Historical Mystery of 2012” at the annual Love Is Murder mystery conference held near Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport. The “Lovey” (as these awards are called) is the culmination of several months of activity for me in introducing my “prequel” to the Nero Wolfe series created and continued for four decades by the great Rex Stout.

It was a special pleasure for me to win this award at what long has been my favorite mystery gathering. Love Is Murder, held each year on the first weekend in February, brings together mystery and thriller writers and fans from across the country. The three days are filled with panel discussions on subjects ranging from how to find a literary agent and how to keep your series fresh to tips preparing your manuscript for publication and strategies for getting your book on the shelves of public libraries.

As interesting and instructive as the panel discussions are, the informal gatherings over food and drinks can be equally stimulating, as best-selling authors mingle with other attendees and share their experiences with publishers, agents, and readers. When a top-flight mystery writer talks about his or her difficulties in initially getting published, it gives hope–and stimulus–to those struggling to get into print and/or the e-book world.

So this new “Lovey,” my third such award spread over the last decade, now occupies a place of honor on a shelf in my den and will, I hope, spur me to keep on writing.

* * *

Publishers Weekly starred review of Archie Meets Nero Wolfe: “Goldsborough hits nary a false note, an impressive achievement…”

16 Responses to A Cherished Honor

  1. Jonathan Shimberg says:

    I thought they fired Lovey. Seriously, the book was a great prequel. As your other Wolfes show, you have a wonderful grasp of Stout’s work. I enjoyed it all. It was almost too short. Sherlock should be proud of his son.

  2. Jim Murray says:

    Congratulations…again.
    And thanks for keeping us entertained in grand fashion.

    A fan.

  3. Ellen says:

    Thank you so much for this wonderful novel and for continuing on with the Nero Wolfe mysteries. I have truly enjoy your writing.

  4. Schaffer, Marilyn says:

    Fantastic!! Congratulations!!!!!

    You definitely deserve this honor! I & the rest of the Wolfe Pack are very happy & excited that you will be speaking at our Banquet this Dec. I’m looking forward to meeting you.

    Your fan, Marilyn Schaffer

    From: Robert Goldsborough <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: Robert Goldsborough <comment+eintpxjk2pqsavhcwbqs0y@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Thursday, March 21, 2013 4:35 PM To: Marilyn <mschaffer@hartford.edu> Subject: [New post] A Cherished Honor

    Karen Syed posted: ” I was delighted to learn in February that Archie Meets Nero Wolfe had been named Best Historical Mystery of 2012 at the annual Love Is Murder mystery conference held near Chicagos OHare International Airport. The Lovey (as these awards are calle”

    • Ellen says:

      I am thrilled to learn that you have been invited to speak at the wolfe Pack banquet. A great honor and greatly deserved! Good things come to those who wait.

  5. John Lenz says:

    Pleased to hear of your honor. I’d like to think readers like me have helped spur you onto the keyboard too! Can you guesstimate when the next Nero and Archie will be out to brighten my life? John Lenz

    • Hi John. It is indeed readers like you who have spurred me on. I have completed another Wolfe story, tentatively titled “Murder in the Box Seats,” which I hope will be published in calendar ’13 or early ’14.

      Bob Goldsborough

      • John Lenz says:

        Eagerly awaiting this new book! Keep ‘em coming. By the way, how in the world did Archie get good enough with a handgun to knock off two bad guys on a hawser with two shots when he admits he hadn’t fired one much before. As an old competition pistol shooter that’s a little hard to swallow :-).

    • Robert Goldsborough says:

      Hi John,
      It is indeed readers like you who have spurred me on. I’ve completed another Wolfe story, tentatively titled “Murder in the Box Seats.” I hope to see it published either in calendar ’13 or early in ’14.
      Bob

  6. Sorry, but I could not find another place to enter this, so I hope you’ll forgive the trespass.
    I just finished reading your obit for Toshio Narahashi in the Tribune. Nice except for one thing, Toshio, whom I knew many years ago at the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, MA, was not “Mr” Narahashi, but rather “Dr” Narahashi! As you noted in the article, he held an earned doctorate from the University of Tokyo – a first-rate institution.
    Permit me a guess: if he had held an MD you would have used Dr.
    Not cool. In academic rankings a PhD sits above an MD, and as one who has taught both sorts, I can assure you that the PhD does indeed require more intellectual muscle. So please don’t diminish great people like Toshio in future. Accord them the respect they have earned.

    Martin Mendelson, MD, PhD
    Clinical Professor, SPH
    U. of Washington, Seattle

    • I did not write that obituary, my son, also named Robert, did. But as a former Chicago Tribune writer and editor, I can address your comment. The style at the Tribune–and at most major American newspapers–is to use Dr. for MDs but not for PhDs or other academic doctorates. Even if my son had referred to him as Dr. Toshio Narahashi, the paper’s copy desk almost surely would have changed it to Mr. This style practice, cool or not, has been in existence for as long as I can remember, and I joined the newspaper business more than a half century ago.

      Robert Goldsborough .

  7. theodore m kumlander says:

    Archie meets Wolfe is great. I have read 2 of your other Nero Wolfe books and I enjoyed them but I could tell it was not Rex Stout. With This book it is perfect. I can not tell the difference. I am grateful too to you for keeping the Nero Wolfe stories alive. my next kindle download will be Snap Malik. Peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,420 other followers

