Some Nice Words from Publishers Weekly

Click Cover to Buy

Click Cover to Buy

*Starred Review*

Did you know  that in its Nov. 25, 2013 issue the trade journal Publishers Weekly gave a starred review to my latest Nero Wolfe novel, “Murder in the Ball Park.” PW is most selective in handing out its starred reviews, and I was honored to again receive that merit, which also had been awarded to my “Archie Meets Nero Wolfe” a little more than a year earlier.

The PW reviewer called my latest effort “superb” and went on to say that in the storyline “the investigation follows the dynamic of Rex Stout’s originals, with Archie (Goodwin) dutifully reporting back to the sedentary genius (Nero Wolfe) before a gathering of the suspects in Wolfe’s West 35th Street brownstone for the satisfying denouement.”

I hope readers agree the PW assessment of “Murder in the Ball Park,” which came out January, both in print and as an e-book.

You can also find several of my previous Nero Wolfe books on Amazon.com.

20 Responses to Some Nice Words from Publishers Weekly

  1. John Lenz says:

    Nice to see PW agrees with my enjoyment of Murder at the Ball Park (-: Hope this motivates you to give us another couple of NW stories to brighten declining years. John Lenz

  2. jwmurrayjr says:

    What he (John Lenz) said!
    I’m reading The Last Coincidence” again for the “umpteenth” time.

    Thanks Mr. Goldsborough!

  3. Wonderful review for a wonderful book and a wonderful author. thanks again to Robert Goldsborough and the Stout family for continuing the unique Nero Wolfe series.

  4. morleysplace says:

    Well deserved words, I might add–I enjoyed the read and I’ll be searching out more.

    Kate

  5. jwmurrayjr says:

    Mr. Goldsborough, I see no mention of your latest “Archie in the Crosshairs”.
    Just ordered it from Amazon where I “stumbled” upon it.

  6. Carol says:

    I just got my copy of Archie in the crosshairs today in the mail. I read where the actual display date is to be March 10th. So to comment to jwmurray: I guess that is why nothing has bene said yet..

  7. jwmurrayjr says:

    March 10th alright. I’m really looking forward to it.

  8. Carol says:

    3-6-15
    Mr. Goldsborough:
    I am currently reading an early “uncorrected proof” copy of your latest book “Archie In The Crosshairs”……. E-Bay is a wonderful place.
    At the beginning of the 4th Chapter, it says that Orrie Cather is among the few people that Wolfe INVITES (as in currently) to dine with him. WELL, Mr. Goldsborough, Orrie Cather killed himself (by arrangement) in the book BY STOUT “A Family Affair” dated October of 1974. Read towards the end of Chapter 17. I think you need to talk to your research assistants.

    As a side note: I have ALL of Rex Stout’s Nero Wolfe novels, and have read each of them numerous times. I am still reading them. I own ALL of your Nero Wolfe Novels, and re-read many of them as well. I still re-read them as well.

    • John Lenz says:

      Since “Archie in the Crosshairs is set in mid-20th century it predates the demise of Orrie!

    • Hello, Carol,
      In the author notes at the end of the book, I note that this story is set in the mid-20th century, the 1950s, a good 20 years before Orrie’s demise. As to research assistants, I’m afraid I have none, but I have read–and enjoyed–all of Mr. Stout’s novels and novellas. And I thank you for your kind comments about my work.
      All best,
      Robert Goldsborough

  9. Mariann Hornlein says:

    I am 79 years old and devoured all the Nero Wolfe books as they came out. I had them all in paperback, now I have them all on my Kindle… including yours. They are excellent.
    Note: I always wondered what Wolfe would do if Cramer was framed for murder.

  10. John Lenz says:

    Hi, Bob, just finished more careful re-reading of “Archie in the Crosshairs”..It’s a masterpiece of character definition! This time I outguessed you, remembering Wolfe’s picking up on a casual comment by a suspect to pin a murder on him, but that didn’t quell my enjoyment of more Wolfe and Archie.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,436 other followers

